Religious Groups: Eastern Liturgical (Orthodox)
 Religious Groups >
Search Religious Groups:

The Eastern Liturgical (Orthodox) family represents one of the three great divisions of Christianity; the others are the Protestant churches and the Roman Catholic Church. The Catholic and Orthodox churches were originally united, but they parted in the 11th century, when they differed over several points of doctrine, including the supreme authority of the pope, which Orthodox Christians reject. Since the 20th century, the Catholic and Orthodox churches have made greater efforts toward reconciliation. Churches in the Eastern Liturgical family include the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America and the Orthodox Church in America.

Eastern Liturgical (Orthodox)

Inactive Denominations (Denomination is defunct, has been renamed or merged with another denomination, or has not reported data since 1980)

Bookmark and Share