Community of Christ

 Religious Groups > Latter-day Saints Family (Mormonism) >
Search Religious Groups:

Denominational Profile


Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

renamed toCommunity of Christ (2001)


The Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints changed its name to the Community of Christ in 2001. It was founded in 1860 by Jason Briggs, Zenos Gurley, William Marks, and followers of Joseph Smith, Jr., who decided against migrating to Utah during the 1850s.

Membership Data

Year Clergy Churches Members
1999 20,370 1,236 137,065
2001 19,352 1,346 137,844
2002 18,337 951 142,106
2003 16,026 904 163,850
2004 19,318 1,236 176,189
2005 20,420 1,236 180,339
2007 20,420 935 178,328

Data were taken from the National Council of Churches' Historic Archive CD and recent editions of the Yearbook of American and Canadian Churches. The National Council of Churches' data collection was discontinued after the 2012 Yearbook was published, and has been resumed by the Association of Statisticians of American Religious Bodies (ASARB). The tables and graphs will be updated when the new collection is available. See the Yearbook of Churches. Denomination descriptions provided by Dr. J. Gordon Melton, Director, Institute for the Study of American Religion (ISAR). [More information on data sources]

Bookmark and Share