Mainline Protestant Denominations

Mainline Protestantism is a branch of Protestantism encompassing what are considered theologically liberal and moderate denominations, such as the Presbyterian Church (USA), the United Methodist Church, The Reformed Church in America, the Episcopal Church, the United Church of Christ, and the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. While Mainline Protestantism is usually seen as more theologically and socially liberal than Evangelical Protestantism, there is obviously variation between denominations, congregations, and individuals within the "Mainline" category.


The following 23 Mainline Protestant denominations are included in the Religious Congregations & Membership Study 2010.

Bookmark and Share